Oh yes you can | A Golden Touch Photography| Buffalo NY, Child and Family Photographer

I can’t get good pictures of my kids

My kids run from the camera

My kids wont look at me no matter how many animal noises I make

I give up….

I hear it all the time, my clients, my friends, my fellow photographers even.

I guess in a way so many of us have become “photo snobs” we want only the perfect smile, the perfect composition in the perfect light with the perfect coordinating outfits.

It’s a shame actually, but less and less of us are “snapping” memories and more and more of us are deleting the out of focus and the terrible grain even if it’s the sweetest expression on our little ones face.

I am guilty of all of the above, but I have a friend that captures the BEST pictures of her kids (yes you JB), they are spontaneous, adorable and most of all ALIVE…I love them, the good the bad and the not so perfect.

So today my kids were driving me off a steep cliff on a unicycle and then I saw it….another one of her super cool photos and I was motivated.   I turned to the four creatures that were ripping a Highlights book to a million pieces in the living room and said… Hey, you wanna go jump on mommies bed?

Oh the looks, the gasps of shock and awe, almost worried that I was just yanking their chain.   YES they all said, so I said fine let’s do it.  I grabbed my camera, vowed myself in the mirror to not tell them to look, smile or act a certain way.  I pulled the lamp off the nightstand and told them to be safe and have fun….They were and they did 😀   Not award-winning photos, not going to go down in history as original.  I LOVE THEM!!!!

So get out there and shoot your kids lol, with your camera of course and let them be kids.  You wont regret it ♥

One thought on “Oh yes you can | A Golden Touch Photography| Buffalo NY, Child and Family Photographer

Leave a comment